Zimbabwe News and Internet Radio

Mighty Warriors foreign based players start trooping in: Mpandare

Warriors’ teams manager Wellington Mpandare has revealed that Mighty Warriors foreign based players are expected to start trooping in today not 14 February as previously reported.

The players are expected to join the rest of the squad ahead of the Africa Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) qualifier versus Botswana slated for next week Friday.

The first match of the two legged crucial encounter is scheduled for 18 February at the National Sports Stadium in Harare.

While the return leg is set to be played on 23 February at Obedi Itani Chilume Stadium in Francistown, Botswana.

Previously, reports had indicated that the foreign based players will join others on Valentine’s Day which is four days before the Botswana encounter.

Related Articles
1 of 42

But providing an update on the ongoing Mighty Warriors preparations, Mpandare said the players are looking forward to start landing in the country this week (Thursday).

He further confirmed that of the 30 provisional member squad selected by the head coach Sithethelelwe Sibanda so far 26 are in camp and only four players who ply their trade outside the country are yet to join.

The foreign quartet include Berita Kabwe (Angles, Nigeria), Emmaculate Msipa (Karagumruk Spor Kulubu, Turkey), Danai Bhobho (Simba Queens, Tanzania) and Rudo Neshamba who recently secured a six months long move to the Middle East (Ramat HaSharon WFC, Israel).

“The rest of the players are in camp with the exception that the foreign based players who include Emmaculate Msipa, Danai Bhobho, Berita Kabwe and Rudo Neshamba who will also arrive starting from tomorrow (Thursday),” he revealed.

Meanwhile, the winner of the two legged match will earn a place among 12 teams to play at the AWCON 2022 finals to held in Morocco starting from 2 July and ending on the 23rd of the same month.

The AWCON tournament will also be used as an automatic ticket to the African qualifiers for the 2023 World Cup competition that will be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

Only top four teams at the AWCON finals will earn themselves the privileged ticket to the World Cup.

Below is the official Mighty Warriors 30-member provisional squad that was selected by coach Kwinji 15 last week.


Lindiwe Magwede (Herentals Queens) Cynthia Shonga (Harare City Queens) Precious Mudyiwa (Black Rhinos Queens) Leona Bhunu (Bulawayo Chiefs)


Nobukhosi Ncube (Correctional Queens) Egness Tumbare, Moreblessing Bwende (Harare City Queens) Edeline Mutumbami, Vimbai Mharadzi, Liliosa Kandemiri (Blue Swallows Queens) Talent Mukwanda (Herentals Queens) Purity Mugayi, Eunice Chibanda (Black Rhinos Queens)


Emmaculate Msipa (Fatih Karagümrük Spor Kulübü, Turkey) Marjory Nyaumwe (Correctional Queens) Shyline Dambamuromo, Alice Moyo (Faith Drive Queens) Mavis Chirandu, Priviledge Mupeti (Black Rhinos Queens) Danai Bhobho (Simba Queens, Tanzania) Ennerty Chemhere (Ubuntu Queens) Berita Kabwe (Rivers Angels, Nigeria)


Rudo Neshamba (Ramat Hasharon WFC, Israel) Maudy Mafuruse, Melody Chikoore (Faith Drive Queens) Christabel Katona, Rutendo Makore (Black Rhinos Queens) Dinah Rose Banda (Queen Lozikeyi Academy) Natasha Ndowa (Blue Swallows Queens) Shamiso Mutasa (Herentals Queens). Nehanda Radio