Zimbabwe News and Internet Radio

FC Platinum, Hre City battle in $50k Challenge Cup

Newly-crowned champions FC Platinum will have a chance to celebrate their landmark success season this Saturday when they meet Chibuku Super Cup kings Harare City in the Castle Challenge Cup at Mandava.

FC Platinum players lift the PSL Cup on Saturday

The match was organised to commemorate the Premier Soccer League’s 25th anniversary and will only be played this year.The winners will pocket $30 000 while the runners-up will get $20 000.

The Zvishavane miners are on cloud nine after winning their maiden league title at the weekend.

But their opponents, the Sunshine Boys, were relegated on Saturday in an anti-climax to a season that had held so much promise.

The Sunshine Boys succumbed to shock relegation despite beating How Mine at Rufaro.

Meanwhile, the Cecafa Cup-bound team is expected to go into camp today and begin their preparations for the tournament which gets underway this Sunday in Nairobi.

The tournament will run up to December 17.And coach Sunday “Mhofu” Chidzambwa, who will preside over the team assisted by Rahman Gumbo and Lloyd Mutasa, has since named a strong squad of 29 players.

The players will be trimmed to 20 before the team departs at the weekend.

The veteran gaffer has rewarded some of the league’s top performers such as Rodwell Chinyengetere, Devon Chafa, Never Tigere and Qadr Amini.

The coach has also called Chapungu skipper Collen Kwaramba.

Zimbabwe were invited to Kenya as guests are in group B with holders Uganda, Burundi, Ethiopia and South Sudan.

The Young Warriors are also expected to go into camp today in preparation for the Cosafa Under-20 Championships in Zambia from December 3 to 16.

Cecafa Squad

Goalkeepers: Takabva Mawaya (Ngezi Platinum), Elvis Chipezeze (Chicken Inn), Herbert Rusawo (Black Rhinos).

Defenders: Devine Lunga (Chicken Inn), Praise Tonha (How Mine), Qadr Amini, Partson Jaure (Ngezi Platinum), Farai Madhananga (Harare City), Peter Muduhwa (Highlanders), Jimmy Dzingai (Yadah), Collen Kwaramba (Chapungu), Kelvin Moyo (FC Platinum), Stephen Makatuka (CAPS United).

Midfielders: Devon Chafa (CAPS United), Gerald Takwara (FC Platinum), Never Tigere (ZPC Kariba), Liberty Chakoroma (Ngezi Platinum), Rodwell Chinyegetere (FC Platinum), Ishmael Wadi (Bulawayo City), Raphael Manuvire (ZPC Kariba), Ocean Mushure (Dynamos), Ali Sadiki (FC Platinum), Clement Matawu (Chicken Inn), Martin Vengesayi (Harare City).

Strikers: Dominic Chungwa (CAPS United), Clive Augusto (Ngezi Platinum), Terrence Dzvukamanja (Ngezi Platinum), Donald Ngoma (unattached).

Technical Team: Sunday Chidzambwa (coach), Rahman Gumbo (assistant coach), Lloyd Mutasa (assistant coach), Brenna Msisika (goalkeepers’ coach), Patrick Mutesva (team manager), Shakespeare Chinogwenya (kit assistant), Somani Mudariki (doctor), Thompson Matenda (fitness trainer). The Chronicle