Zimbabwe News and Internet Radio

Zim artists pen anti-xenophobia song

HARARE – 10 local artists have joined hands to form a group called United Artists Against Xenophobia. 

Ammara Brown
Ammara Brown

The members of the group are in the studio working on an album that is expected to be released before the end of this week.

Among the musicians taking part in the project include Ammara Brown, Roki, Jah Prayzah, Simba Saini, Cynthia Mare, Suluman Chimbetu, Kessia, Afrika Revenge, Mafrique and Alick Macheso.

Producer of the project who is also the Zimbabwe Musicians Union Committee Member Willis Wataffi says they have partnered with a number of organisations who are looking for mouth pieces to activate the message of human rights abuse in South Africa.

“Musicians who are coming from different backgrounds are now taking responsibility in the restoration of peace by spreading non-hate messages as they cannot fight hatred with hatred,” says Wataffi.

The song, yet to be titled, has a message of hope and is spreading black on black love as the 10 artists are activating messages in solidarity with the rest of the country, denouncing xenophobia and seeking to let the world know it has no place on the African continent, or anywhere in the world.

Other producers who are coordinating another anti-xenophobia song include Munyaradzi Viya and Dereck Mpofu on the song No To Xenophobia- We Are One People featuring Alexio Kawara, Kunle Ayo, Ringo Madlingozi, Ras Caleb and Winnie Khumalo. ZBC