Zimbabwe News and Internet Radio

Global hit makers go head to head as ZAA announces 2015 nominees

By Arts Correspondent

LONDON – A quintet of global hit makers will do battle for this year’s coveted International Music Artist of the year gong at the fifth anniversary of the Zimbabwe Achievers Awards (ZAA), according to a shortlist released on Friday.

2013 headline performer Tinashe Kachingwe at ZAA 2013
2013 headline performer Tinashe Kachingwe at ZAA 2013

Organisers of the prestigious red carpet event announced over 85 nominees across 18 categories covering business, community work, media, sport and culture, literature and music.

The nominees will be subjected to a public vote starting from the 5th of March till the end of April. Thereafter, an expert panel of ZAA judges will sift through the votes and also apply a rigorous research-based assessment to arrive at the final winners.

ZAA Panel Chairperson Dr Martha Chinouya applauded the public’s enthusiastic participation in the nomination process as more than 500 nominations were received this year.

“We’ve sifted through all the submissions that were put forward for this year’s event and emerged with a strong field of deserving candidates for recognition this year. People can now visit our website to vote for the nominees who have been shortlisted,” Dr Chinouya said.

The music category is a major highlight and cause for much excitement as it brings together five artistes who have distinguished themselves remarkably over the past year.

Millions across the world have sung along to Beyoncé and husband Jay-Z’s hit track Drunk in Love, but very few know about the track’s Zimbabwean producer, Brian Soko.

He’s just become the first Zimbabwean born Grammy winner after the song notched up two awards at this year’s ceremony.

Joining Soko on the list is another US based artist, newly emergent R&B star Tinashe Kachingwe. With millions of Youtube views for her underground mixtapes, Tinashe came over to London in 2013 to headline ZAA’s 2013 event.

The following year, she released her critically acclaimed debut album, Aquarius, which spawned the hit song 2On, featuring rapper Schoolboy Q.

UK-based versatile producer and ‘African dancehall ambassador to the world’, Jusa Dementor, also had a remarkable and highly productive 2014.

With Zim Dancehall finally getting mainstream recognition in Zimbabwe, Jusa has not only contributed to that genre’s burgeoning success but has also fired up the spiritual home of the music – Jamaica.

One of his major 2014 highlights was his production of the ‘Evidence Riddim’ which features a clutch of Jamaican heavyweights including Demarco, I-Octane and Jah Vinci.

Also weighing in with an illustrious 2014 firmly under his belt is US-based producer Tinashe Sibanda aka T-Collar, who co-produced the hit song Them Girls Be Like for the US girl group Fifth Harmony’s debut album, Reflection.

Zimbabwe-based mbira songstress Hope Masike’s hard grinding work ethic saw her traverse the globe dishing out Mbira vibes from Asia to America and back to Africa, all in her stride.

Fuller profiles of this year’s nominees will be made available on the zimachievers.com website to provide the voting public with helpful information about the achievements of all the shortlisted candidates.

This year’s ZAA will be held on the 9th of May at the five-star Royal Garden Hotel in London’s affluent Kensington district. With spectacular views of Kensington Palace, and the magnificent Kensington Gardens, the hotel provides a fitting aura of splendour to what is set to be an unforgettable event.

ZAA Executive Director Brian Nyabunze urged the public to take advantage of the current ticket discount which will be ending soon with prices reverting to the standard £89.95 from the current £69.95.

“Our world class ticketing system allows you to choose your seats alongside your companions on the night.

“Groups and corporate bodies that would like to buy tables can also pick the best location in the auditorium, although such choices will increasingly become limited over the next couple of weeks. So hurry and book your table now,” Nyabunze said.

The ZAA is the premier platform within the UK Zimbabwean community for recognising and celebrating the achievements of people of Zimbabwean heritage. Last year’s event at the Royal Garden Hotel proved a hit with guests and organisers have promised to up the bar as the awards body celebrates its fifth anniversary at the same venue.

Business Awards
Company of the Year

  • Initiative Logistics Ltd
  • Save Mari
  • Local Care Force
  • Coedma Freight International Ltd
  • Couture and Tiara Bridal
Female Entrepreneur

  • Mariegold Chanellor
  • Lisa Chuma
  • Fungai Ndemera
  • Pamela Kafesu
  • Nicola Holden
Male Entrepreneur

  • Samuel Rutsito
  • Tafadzwa Biston
  • Godfrey Mushandu
  • Leo Dhliwayo
  • Phil Makekera
Community Awards
Community Organisation

  • Ladies of UK (LUK)
  • The 4cs (Climate Change Community Champions)
  • Jenny Msonza Foundation
  • Ndoro Children’s Charity
  • Zvirikufaya (Kedha TV)
Community Champion

  • Dr Brighton Chireka
  • Florence Jemwa
  • Rutendo Nyatsine
  • Tarisai Mellisa Nhau
  • Dark Zac
Creative Awards
Fashion Designer

  • ZUWA Re
  • Prelim Clothing
  • Tangerine (Ka’Yanda Collections)
  • Rambisayi Marufu (Tarivamwe Clothing)
  • Pam Samasuwo Nyawiri (Vanhu Vamwe)
Author of the Year

  • Epi Mabika
  • Tendai Huchu
  • Rudo Muchoko
  • Daniel Sebata

  • Zimstock App
  • SaveMari.com
  • Moses Marandu


Media & Culture Awards
Media Organisation

  • Zimlink
  • ZimboLive TV
  • Zimonline Radio
  • News of the South
  • Zollywood
Radio Presenter / Club Dj of the Year

  • Lady Bimma
  • Young Chidzy
  • Simply Dubz
  • Dj Field Marshal
  • Dj Cosmo
Event of the Year

  • Miss Zimbabwe UK 2014
  • Sungano Zimpraise
  • All White Boat Party
  • Zim Cup Clash
Music Awards
International Music Artist

  • Tinashe
  • Hope Masike
  • Brian Soko
  • Jusa Dementor
  • Tinashe Sibanda
International Gospel Music Artist

  • Pride Priestly
  • Joseph Madziyire
  • Takesure Zamar Ncube
  • Lloyd Tevedzai
  • Mkhululi Bhebhe
Sports Awards
Sports Personality of the year

  • Charles Manyuchi
  • Rebekah Oberholzer
  • Collen Makaza
  • Stanley Madiri
  • Gavin Mkandla
Special Awards
Young Achievers

  • Charles Chavi
  • Jay Sim
  • Becka Maphosa
  • Tamara Msimanga
  • Sakhile Classique
  • SmiloArt
Lifetime AchievementChairman’s Award
People’s Choice Awards
People’s Choice

  • Ivy Mango Chatora
  • Lloyd Tevedzai
  • Tafadzwa Biston
  • Mariegold Chanellor
  • Pamela Kafesu
Personality of the Year

  • Heather Shekede
  • David Zinyama
  • Tendai Maphosa
  • Linda Sekai
  • Alex Magaisa
Tourism Awards
Tourism Award

  • Vayeni
  • The Zimbabwe Parks and Wild Life Management
  • The Hide Safari
  • Civil Aviation Authority of Zimbabwe
  • Imbalabala Zambezi Safari Lodge