Zimbabwe News and Internet Radio

List of nominees for ZIMAA UK Awards

LONDON – The Holiday Inn (High Wycombe) in the UK will in 15 days time play host to the third Zimbabwe Music and Arts Awards (ZIMAA UK). 

Theresa Shanky Shangazhike
Shanky set to perform on the night

The awards, a brainchild of Rise Up Investments Group, aim to pay tribute to people and organizations that have made huge strides in enhancing the country’s cultural image.

Speaking to Nehanda Radio Onismus Mposhi one of the organisers said the winners will be decided by an online poll complimented by a judging panel of experts in each field.

UK based dancehall artist Jusa Dementor and newly published writer Stephanie Chiyangwa will host the awards. Musician, author and teacher Chartwell Dutiro is expected to give an inspirational talk.

UK based singer Shanky will also perform on the night

“We are offering discounted rates for tables of 10 at £400 each while normal tickets are £45 per person. Those who take this route can save themselves £5 per ticket per person,” Mposhi said.

Below are the nominees who are being voted for

Male Artist of the Year 

AJ Tipsy

Rhyme Assassin

Money B


ZimKid Wamambo

Money B

Nash Daddie

Ogga Kattalog


Prodigal Nutty Gora

Silvaa King

Roby Gee

Lyfe Martinez



Female Artist of the Year 

Pearl Natasha


Bekaa Maphosa

Dee Nyoni


Sharon Rose


Male Gospel Artist of the Year

Nkosi ka Ndlovu

Walter Chahwanda

Derick Maphosa

Obert Mazivisa

Farai Muvuti


Female Gospel Artist of the Year

Jane Doka

Varaidzo Mhoka

Maria Adonis Rusike

Delvine Ndawana

Sety Mandiveyi

Caroline Rumbi

Sharon Rose


Gospel Group or Duo of the Year

Lazarus Staziyo and Tehillah Praise

Higher Ground Accapella

Khamani Clan

Jane Doka & the Prophetic Worshippers

Royal Destiny


Group or Duo of the Year

Bkay and Kazz – African Spirit

Higher Ground Acapella

Khamani Crew

Aaron Manatsa & the New Green Arrows

Thabo and the Real Deal

All Stars

Boyz ReTonaz

Kamikaze Test Pilots


Touring Artist of the Year

Nox Guni

Sulumani Chimbetu

Lady Squanda

Jah Prayzah & the 3rd Generation Band

Oliver Mtukudzi

Thomas Mapfumo


Junior Brown


Tehn Diamond

Alick Macheso

Jay C


Winky D

Loud H

Lloyd Tevedzai

Charles & Olivia Charamba



Video of the Year

Sweet Gal – Kazz aka Mr_Boomslang

Money B – Love on the Mountains

Cornstar ft Shaw T – The Only One

Lil Tanisha – Mandela Our Hero

Walter Chahwanda – Oh Give Thanks

ZimKid Wamambo – Spazz Out

Ogga Kattalog – Usandisiye

All Stars – Echo

Gamu – Shake the Room

Nash Daddie – Unodzoka Rini

Kudzanai – Link Up

Chipo – Aaron Manatsa & The New Green Arrows


Video Producer of the Year

Tim 2 Soxx

Zim Vision Media

Shaddy Media

Marrie Jernie

Zimbabwe Entertainment

T.K. Nyepere

GMC Pictures


Club or Event DJ of the Year

DJ Young Mic

Simply Dubz

DJ Nyari

DJ Lavaman T.N.C.

Mr Skillz

Tee Mag

Syndicate Sound

Busani Socks

Marcus Irie

Jah Hanief

Timmy – Tim2Soxx


Actress of the Year

Mpho Makaya – We Are Young

Susan Manyewere – MaZimba II

Michelle Ndlovu – Youngers


Actor of the Year

Happy Manyewere – MaZimba II

Lucian Msamati – Luther

Khalil Madovi – 4 O’Clock Club


Writer of the Year

Spiwe Harper-Mahachi

Stanley Vambe

Betty Makoni

Fikelephi Jackson

Patricia Chipungu


Book of the Year 

Trials and Triumphs In Adversity – Stanley Vambe Footprints

Footprints in the Mists of Time – Spiwe Harper-Mahachi

Never Again – Betty Makoni

Against All Odds – Fikelephi Jackson

Pick Me Up – Patricia Chipungu


Male Fashion Designer of the Year

Manicawear Clothing UK

Diamond Empire Clothing

Terrie Gunz – Harare Hustler

Blackarmoor Clothing Brand


Female Fashion Designer of the Year

Leah African Design

Royalty Designs

Zuwa Re

Curvyswan by Adel Kaseke

CL JS Motif


Event of the Year

I Love Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe Cup Clash UK

The Big Three Summer Festival

Inspired Women’s Conference 2013

Khaya Festival

Zimbabwe Stand Up Summer Jam (ZSJ13)

Zimfest 2013

Leah’s Red Carpet Fashion Collection Launch

Ogga Kattalog Video Launch Party

Dangerzone Love and Unity Tour


Promoter of the Year

Boss Ronnie

Madboiz Entertainment

Y2K Entertainment

One Heritage Promotions

Torro Entertainment


Broadcaster of the Year

Zimbabwe Entertainment Channel

Dandaro TV

ZimOnline Radio

Afro Essence TV

Zimnet Radio

Hona TV


Media Group of the Year

Zimeye News

Nehanda Radio

New Zimbabwe

News Dze Zimbabwe

The Zimbabwean


Radio Presenter or DJ of the Year

DJ Stumma – Zimonline Radio

Simply Dubz – Jamrock Radio

DJ Lady Bimma – Zimpower FM

Belinda Magejo – Zimnet Radio


TV Presenter of the Year

Chelsea Monica Chipato

Zimbabwe Entertainment Channel

Samantha Tapfumaneyi

Zimbabwe Entertainment Channel

Lady Gwagwa

Dandaro TV