Zimbabwe News and Internet Radio

18th NAMA talking points

Surprises, shocks, tears and boos….

By Trust Khosa

This aptly sums up the 18th edition of the National Arts Merit Awards ceremony held at the Harare International Conference Centre last weekend.

KANJIVA . . . Enzo Ishall speaks after receiving his award
KANJIVA . . . Enzo Ishall speaks after receiving his award

Despite all the hype prior to the event, the outcome of the winners did not come as a surprise to many who have been following the NAMAs.

It was also yet another night which brew shocks as the panel of adjudicators came with a ‘bizarre’ list of winners in other categories.

As usual, the music category divided opinions once again as ‘deserving’ nominees left empty-handed with some nominees even shocked to be called to the winners’ podium.

Gweru based gospel diva Mai Patai brew a shocker of the night at the awards ceremony and debate is still raging.

The seasoned gospel musician won the Viewers’ Choice Award at the expense of the crowd’s favourite like Winky D, Jah Prayzah and Alick Macheso.

Even the presenter of the gong was booed off stage as she announced the winner as guests failed to come to terms with Mai Patai’s triumph.

Sandra Ndebele who received the gong on behalf of Mai Patai added was also jeered when she announced that she comes from Gweru and that’s why she received the award.

However, event organisers said Mai Patai was voted for by fans and there was nothing they could do since she polled most votes.

While Mai Patai’s triumph reads like an April Fools’ Day prank, her victory has come as a serious lesson for fans who do not vote for their favourite artistes yet they complain when they lose.

Mai Patai, who is not knew to such victory, appears to have devised her own modus operandi in soliciting for votes which should be emulated by other artistes.

World over, we have seen artistes soliciting for votes and Mai Patai is a good example of such a person even if on paper she doesn’t deserve it.

Guests were also left divided after rapper ExQ won the outstanding musician in a category where he was pitted against the likes of Macheso.

Without taking anything from ExQ, fans are still divided.

Another talking point came when Enzo Ishall’s song was Kanjiva earned him an Outstanding Song gong.

Regarded by many a critic as one of those silly songs which ruled the roost in 2018, Enzo still managed to win a gong with the track.

He also received an air ticket to Dubai courtesy of Rwandair.

Like any other event where emotions taking their toll on recipients, Charles Mungoshi’s widow Jesesi Mungoshi almost broke down as she collected her late husband’s gong for the Lifetime Achievements.

Her two sons calmed her down as they accompanied her to the winners’ podium.

It was also a night to remember for world’s most travelled outfit – Mokoomba – who won the Arts Personality award.

Marcus Gora received the gong on behalf of the group which is currently on a tour of North America.

The group, which passed through Music Crossroads talent search programme, is celebrated abroad yet they are underrated back home.

For the past ten years they have been touring Europe and America getting rave reviews from international publications.

And the honour was long overdue for the group which was plucked from the back of beyond in Binga to become international stars.

In other categories, many people believe justice was done but it is the music category which hogged the limelight as usual.

Below is the list of all winners:

Outstanding Poet

Likhwa Ncube – aka Likhwa okaNcube – Winner

Outstanding Comedian

Learnmore Mwanyenyeka – aka Long John – Winner

Outstanding First Creative Published Book

Gather the Children by Batsirai Chigama [Ntombekhaya Poetry] – Winner

Outstanding Children’s Book

The City Girl by Elisha July and Tendai K. Rudanda [Pass-Point Publishers] – Winner

Outstanding Fiction

Mazai Emheni by Daniel Mutendi [DanTs Media Publishing] – Winner

Outstanding Actor

Teddy Mangawa in Ukama – Winner

Outstanding Actress

Heather Mlingo in Ukama

Qeqeshiwe Mtambo in The Hostel – Winner

Outstanding Theatrical Production

Ukama by Savanna Trust – Winner

Outstanding Director

Lloyd Nyikadzino for Zandezi – Winner

Outstanding Female Dancer

Vein N. Alfazema in Black Sheep – Winner

Outstanding Male Dancer

Martin Chabuka in 100% Afro – Winner

Outstanding Dance Group

Real Flex Dance Group directed by Martin Chabuka – Winner

Outstanding Choreographer

Macintosh Jerahuni & Chaleen Chimara – Iwe Neni Tinebasa – Winner

Outstanding 2 Dimensional Work

The Demolition by John Kotze – Winner

Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work

Zvirimudombo by Shelton Mubayi – Winner

Outstanding Mix Media Work

The Watchman and the Fence I by Greg Shaw – Winner

Outstanding Exhibition

Forever Neverland by Valerie Kabov

The Grotesque by Alan Sibanda & Talent Kapadza – Winner

Outstanding Actor

Eddie Sandifolo as Clive in Bhachi – Winner

Outstanding Actress

Tendaishe Chitima as Anesu in Cook Off – Winner

Outstanding Music Video

Dzamutsana produced by Vusa Hlatshayo ft. Jah Prayzah – Winner

Outstanding Screen Production (Television Series)

Kuchina The Genesis directed by Blessing Gatsi – Winner

Outstanding Screen Production – Short Film

Bhachi directed by Shupai Kamunyaru – Winner

Outstanding Screen Production – Full Length Film

Cook Off directed by Thomas Brickhill – Winner

Outstanding Journalist – Print

Fred Zindi – Standard – Winner

Outstanding Journalist – Television

Patience Nyagato – ZTV – Winner

Outstanding Journalist – Radio

Babongile Sikhonjwa – Sky Metro FM – Winner

Outstanding Online Media

Capitalk – Winner

Outstanding Female Musician

Janet Manyowa – Winner

Outstanding Male Musician

Enock Munhenga aka ExQ – Winner

Outstanding Album

Tseu Tseu by Enock Munhenga aka ExQ – Winner

Outstanding Song

Kanjiva by Stephen K. Mamhere aka Enzo Ishal – Winner

Artist in the Diaspora

Danai J. Gurira – Winner

Outstanding Promoter-Unplugged

Viewer’s Choice Award

Mai Patai – Winner

Arts Personality Award-Mokoomba

Arts Service Award-The Standard Newspaper

Lifetime Achievement Award-Dr Charles Mungoshi