Zimbabwe News and Internet Radio

Cal_Vin, T-Gonz dominate Zim Hip-Hop Awards

By Bornwise Mtonzi and Tawanda Matanhire

Hip-hop singers Cal_Vin and T-Gonz dominated the Zim hip-hop awards ceremony which was held at the 1+1 Club at Longcheng Plaza.

Hip-hop singer Cal_Vin from Bulawayo
Hip-hop singer Cal_Vin from Bulawayo

The musicians bagged three awards each, beating popular contestants like Nastro, Mike Pimp, Tricky J, among others. Cal_Vin said he was happy with the recognition as it will go a long way in developing his career.

“Hip-hop is alive and thank you for voting for me. I am over the moon and music is my passion,” he said.

Besides pocketing three awards, T-Gonzi – real name Tinashe Gonzara stole the limelight as he put up a scintillating performance. T-Gonzi walked away with Best Collaboration, Best freestyle and People`s choice awards.

The Mufakose-bred chanter who is currently dominating the airwaves with his popular track “Zvenyu” calls his music “HIPI HOPU Yemu Ghetto” and says that he is not a writer all he knows is singing and he does just that without having to look at some notes to recite on.

“I only freestyle because I have mastered my music and it’s all in my veins all I do is release the message that I carry everytime. I see hip-hop defeating Zimdancehall in the next two years and I am sure with me around the future of this genre is very bright,” T-Gonzi said.

Fans were left asking for more as they were dancing and singing along to his song “Zvenyu”. The coming in of popular Rapper Stunner and an upcoming young female artist Tiara Baluti further excited fans with their stunning performance as they sang their popular loved songs.

With this unique style of music T-Gonzi seems to have woken up on the limelight and his efforts for many years to put his name on the map have proved fruitful.

The night was good and fans enjoyed themselves but a point to note is that our Zim hip-hop industry still got a long way to go. The performances from the other upcoming artistes need some perfection as most of them lacked some coordination.

This year’s edition was better as compared to the previous years and the potential is there in these young artists but some touches are needed so that they are fully perfect their talents. It was a night filled with different activities.

However, there was a dark spot at the ceremony when some young people fought while others were enjoying themselves. Security officials quickly moved to control the situation. Some of the performance came from Mudiwa who came in with his gospel Hip Hop much to the amazement of the fans.

Some of the award winners include, Mudiwa who won Best male dressed and Anonzi Xnder who took the Best producer award among others. Below is the list of nominees and winners. The winners are marked with * sign:

Best Video

  • Hey wena – ThabbzftCal_Vin
  • *Handivhundustwe – Nastro
  • Harare Hairarwe – Mike pimp
  • Mare – gT Beats
  • Tambisa – Tricky j

Best Female

  • Icy murda
  • Miss Kiddy
  • *Blacperl
  • Amard

Best Album

  • T1 Wema1 – Inzwa
  • Guluva Seven- Colour of Dreams
  • BrissMbada – BrissMbadaNdeuyo
  • *Cal_Vin – Year ofThe Vin
  • Mudiwa – MwanawaMambo

Best Collaboration

  • Peekayft Busy Signal – Show me love
  • Blackpearl ft Stunner,Noble Styles – They do thega remix
  • *Ti Gonzift Baller – mandizha-Zvenyu
  • Kidd Aktive ft Cal_Vin&Gze
  • Bry Three Sixty – Konzereza

Best Group

  • K.L.A.P
  • *Art Department
  • Ishy X and Foster
  • Team Bho
  • Red Monkey Nation

Best Male

  • BrissMbada
  • *Cal_Vin
  • Bry Three Sixty
  • T-Gonzi
  • 8L

Best New Comer

  • Mike Pimp
  • Thabbz
  • GuluvaSe7en
  • Mile
  • T 1 Wema1

Best Producer

  • *AnonziXndr
  • Cal_vin
  • Kronik
  • P2daoh

Best Diaspora

  • Kapital K
  • Metaphyics
  • *RhymeAssain
  • GgTBeats
  • Gigi Lamain

Song Of the Year

  • Trea Yung -Ndikoko
  • *T-gonz- Zvenyu
  • Cal_vin – Zikhupani
  • Maskiri -Africa
  • Blackpearl – They do thega(remix)

Best Club DJ

  • DJ Carter
  • Cranki Trixx
  • T Fresh
  • T.K beats
  • *Linsay the dude

Best Radio DJ

  • *Emmitty Smooth
  • Mc Chita
  • Mox
  • Squilla
  • Butterphly

Best Journalist(TV)

  • Prometheus

Best Journalist (Print)

  • *Naboth Rizzla
  • Prometheus
  • Sindiso Dube
  • Professor Fred Zindi
  • Tafadzwa Zimoyo

Best Media (online)

  • *The Lounge -Kronic
  • McPotar
  • African Hip Hop Blog

Best Underground

  • Demitire& Scarecrow
  • Outspoken
  • *Doc Freezy
  • Awa
  • Alka Nemo

Best Dance crew

  • MnM
  • Real Flex
  • *Explosion
  • Lethal Fam
  • Super Geeks

Best Freestyle Award

  • Noble Styles
  • *T Gonz
  • Alkanemo
  • Ishy X
  • Doc Freezy

People’s Choice: T – Gonz