Zimbabwe News and Internet Radio

Live Updates: Cabinet reshuffle

HARARE – Zimbabwean President Robert Mugabe is today expected to announce a Cabinet reshuffle and preside over the swearing in ceremony of others.

George Charamba (believed to be Nathaniel Manheru with President Robert Mugabe and Justice Minister Emmerson Mnangagwa at a press conference
Spokesman George Charamba with President Robert Mugabe and the then Justice Minister Emmerson Mnangagwa at a press conference in 2013

So far we understand 3 ministers are being sworn in today, Jonathan Moyo, Nyasha Chikwinya and Ambrose Mutinhiri

Mugabe to jokes to waiting journalists: “what seek thee? Who called them here?”

15:20: Vice President Phelekezela Mphoko and Labour Minister Mupfumira have arrived at State House.

15:24: The swearing in ceremony officially begins. Jonathan Moyo is first to take the oath. No idea which ministry he has been given so far….

For the past two weeks the Information Minister has been in limbo after Mugabe ejected him from a cabinet meeting on a technicality that he needed to be sworn-in after winning the Tsholotsho seat in a by-election last month.

15:32: Nyasha Chikwinya takes her oath of office. Its thought she is the new Women’s Affairs Minister (still to be confirmed)

15:35: Mugabe now swears in Ambrose Mutinhiri as the Mashonaland East Minister of State for provincial Affairs.

15:43: According to Mugabe’s spokesman George Charamba an announcement on the portfolios will be made soon.

He says the announcement will be made by the secretary to the President and Cabinet Dr Misheck Sibanda.

The following are the new ministers

Prisca Mupfumira will act as Information minister

Jonathan Moyo moved to Higher and Tertiary Education ministry

Ignatius Chombo moves from Local government to Home Affairs.

Saviour Kasukuwere takes over from Ignatius Chombo at Local Government

Kembo Mohadi moves from Home Affairs to State Security

Nyasha Chikwinya is the new Minister of Women Affairs

Ambrose Mutinhiri is the Mashonaland East Minister of State for provincial Affairs