Zimbabwe News and Internet Radio

Mugabe finally announces cabinet

HARARE – Following his controversial re-election last month, Zimbabwe President Robert Mugabe today finally announced his cabinet. As expected the 89 year old recycled the same old dead wood and loyalists who have served him disastrously in the last decade.

Robert Mugabe with Zanu-PF ministers
Robert Mugabe with Zanu-PF ministers

Information Ministry: Jonathan Moyo
Mines Ministry: Walter Chidhakwa
Environment, Water and Climate: Saviour Kasukuwere

Indigenisation: Francis Nhema
Health Ministry: David Parirenyatwa
Sport, Arts and Culture Ministry: Andrew Langa

Transport Ministry: Obert Mpofu
Agriculture Ministry: Joseph Made
Finance Minister: Patrick Chinamasa

Justice and Legal Affairs Ministry: Emmerson Mnangagwa
Higher and Tertiary Education Ministry: Olivia Muchena
Women’s Affairs Minister: Oppah Muchinguri

Defence Ministry: Sydney Sekeramayi
ICT and Postal Courier Services: Webster Shamu
Homes Affairs Ministry: Kembo Mohadi

Tourism Ministry: Walter Mzembi
Energy and Power Development Ministry: Dzikamai Mavhaire
Foreign Affairs Ministry: Simbarashe Mumbengegwi

Industry and Commerce Ministry: Mike Bimha
Labour Ministry: Nicholas Goche
Small and Medium Enterprises: Sithembiso Nyoni

Presidential Affairs: Didymus Mutasa
Senior Minister without Portfolio: Simon Khaya Moyo
Lands Ministry: Douglas Mombeshora

Local Government: Ignatius Chombo
Minister of State for Vocational Training: Josiah Hungwe
Minister of State in Vice President Joice Mujuru’s office: Sylvester Nguni

Primary and Secondary Education: Lazarus Dokora

Ministers of State for Provincial Affairs:

Bulawayo – Eunice Moyo

Harare – Mirriam Chikukwa

Manicaland – Chris Mushowe

Mash Central – Martin Dinha

Mash West – Faber Chidarikire

Mash East – Simbaneuta Mudarikwa

Masvingo – Kudakwashe Bhasikiti

Matebeleland North – Cain Mathema

Matabeleland South – Abednico Ncube

Midlands – Jason Machaya

Below are the Deputy Ministers

Agriculture: David Murapira and Paddy Zhanda
Information: Supa Mandiwanzira
Home Affairs: Ziyambi Ziyambi

Industry and Commerce: Alice Mabuwa
Energy and Power Development: Munacho Mutezo
Environment, Water and Climate
: Simon Musanhu

Finance: Dr Samuel Undenge
Health: Dr Paul Chimedza
Lands: Tendai Savanhu

Local Government: Biggie Matiza
Small and Medium Enterprises: Novert Mukonora
Sport, Arts and Culture: Tabeth Malinga

Transport and Infrastructural Development: Petronella Kagonye
Women’s Affairs: Abigail Damasane
Defence Ministry: No one selected yet

*Mugabe also appointed 5 non-constituency ministers in terms of the new constitution. They are Jonathan Moyo, Lazarus Dokora, Dr Joseph Made and Martin Dinha. To his credit Mugabe has reduced Cabinet from 33 to 26 Ministers.

Some of the scenes at State House today

Below is how people are responding to the cabinet:

“Mugabe’s selection of Ministers must be condemned, nothing new since 1980, but his same old cronies who have nothing to offer this country.” (Blessing Vava: NCA)

“It’s a cabinet full of contradictions, on the one hand Mugabe has dealt with some corrupt hardliners in the economic sector like Obert Mpofu and Saviour Kasukuwere but on the other hand he gave critical political ministries to hardliners like Emmerson Mnangagwa and Jonathan Moyo.

“Purported economic liberal reforms will not work in a purely authoritarian political set up which is what this cabinet is about. It is a reflection of the authoritarian political ideology of Mugabe and Zanu PF. And what this means is that the opposition has a platform of relevance because the dictatorship has refused to reform.” Pedzisai Ruhanya (Political Commentator)

“New cabinet is old wine in old bottles.” Lenox Mhlanga on twitter