Zimbabwe News and Internet Radio

Chamisa, Biti big winners at MDC-T Congress

Nelson Chamisa was the big winner at the 3rd MDC-T Congress held in Bulawayo unseating former Harare Mayor and former Energy Minister Elias Mudzuri to become the new National Organising Secretary.

Nelson Chamisa and Tendai Biti the big winners
Nelson Chamisa and Tendai Biti the big winners

Finance Minister Tendai Biti managed to brush aside the challenge of Public Service Minister Elphas Mukonoweshuro to retain his position as Secretary General. His deputy remains Tapiwa Mashakada.

The MDC-T will also have a new Information and Publicity Secretary after COPAC co-chairman and Nyanga North MP Douglas Mwonzora won the position beating Tongai Mathuthu.

Former Nkayi South MP, Abednico Bhebhe, unceremoniously expelled from parliament and the party by the MDC-N bounced back by becoming the Deputy Organising Secretary in the MDC led by Morgan Tsvangirai.

Full leadership line up below.

President Morgan Tsvangirai  
Vice President Thokozani Khupe  
Secretary General Tendai Biti  
Deputy Sec General Tapiwa Mashakada  
National Chairman Lovemore Moyo  
Deputy National Chairman Morgan Komichi  
Organising Secretary Nelson Chamisa  
Deputy Organising Secretary Abednico Bhebhe  
Information Secretary Douglas Mwonzora