Zimbabwe News and Internet Radio

Government appoints media commission

HARARE – President Robert Mugabe on Friday appointed the Zimbabwe Media Commission (ZMC), one several commission meant to open democratic space and reform Zimbabwe’s politics.

Mugabe, whose previous government forcibly closed several independent newspapers while arresting scores of journalists, named the new commission in a government gazette published Friday.

Former state journalist Godfrey Majonga will chair the commission while journalism lecturer and a former editor of the banned Daily News newspaper Nqobile Nyathi will deputise him.

“His Excellency the President is pleased to appoint with immediate effect for a term of five years the following members of the Zimbabwe Media Commission from a list of nominees submitted by the Committee on Standing Rules and Orders of Parliament,” the gazette said.

Other ZMC members Zimbabwe’s former ambassador Christopher Mutsvangwa, Harare lawyer and journalist Chris Mhike, former Zimbabwe Union of Journalists president Matthew Takaona, former ZBC chief executive officer Mr Henry Muradzikwa and Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe division head Milicent Mombeshora.

Former members of the board of the government’s Zimpapers newspaper empire Lawton Hikwa and journalist Miriam Madziwa complete the list of commissioners.

Deputy Information Minister Jameson Timba from Prime Minister urged the new commissioners to move with speed to implement long awaited media reforms.

“They should now hit the ground and start discharging their duties. They don’t need to be sworn the gazetting is enough,” said Timba. – ZimOnline